Heinz Innovates?

There’s been a huge internet buzz the past week about the new Heinz ketchup packet, their first new ketchup packet design in 0ver 40 years. And the one thing I want to know is why I’m not seeing any negative reviews about it? I hate to be negative about a local product (and I’ll probably take some flak for this), but I just don’t get it. I mean, 42 years and all they come up with is an over-sized bbq sauce packet with a new label graphic?  They also say it costs more than buying the regulars packets too. Um…recession anyone? And if you watch the video above…she seems to have trouble even opening the thing. Ergonomics anyone? And all I can see are these things being littered all over the front sidewalks of fast food restaurants and roadsides as they are tossed from cars after they’ve been consumed. Are they recyclable? And the fact that they are actually advertising “dipping and driving” as part of the PR…seriously? In the words of one of my favorite SNL skits…”Who are the ad wizards that came up with this one”?

As I’m writing this I am coincidentally also listening to the 2010 TED prize winner, chef and health activist Jamie Oliver, give his speech live on the internet. His topic/cause is obesity and how it’s a preventable disease that’s killing Americans and lowering our children’s life expectancy. Diet, portion control and education are some of the main factors in the issue. It’s ironic that this new ketchup packet flies in the face of all 3 of those points, not to mention the environmental impact of yet another plastic container. Do kids (and adults) really need a ketchup packet with 3 times the ketchup (and high fructose corn syrup) and 3 times the plastic? Doesn’t this design only encourage excess consumption and environmental waste in children? Instead of using one packet of ketchup on a burger, now you can squirt on 3? (See picture below) Don’t get me wrong…I do love me some Heinz ketchup (and won’t use any other brand). But to be truly innovative, Heinz needs to steer the market instead of letting the market steer them. (See Apple)

-jp

(photos via Core77)

This entry was posted in Design, innovation, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Heinz Innovates?

  1. Frank says:

    Chef Hymie Grande (www.chefhymiegrande.com ) is the first and only bottled BBQ sauce to carry the seal of the American Diabetes Association on the label. It has no high fructose corn syrup, no processed sugar, it is all natural and vegan friendly. It is produced at the Rutgers Food Innovation Center in Bridgton, NJ by Jamie Failtelson, a.k.a. Chef Hymie Grande of Carlstadt, NJ. 5% of proceeds go to the American Diabetes Association.

  2. Damon Henard says:

    Thanks for writing about this. There’s a bunch of good tech information on the internet. You’ve got a lot of that info here on your web site. I’m impressed – I try to keep a couple blogs reasonably up-to-date, but it’s a struggle sometimes. You’ve done a great job with this one. How do you do it?

  3. Hey, this is a very nice blog! It seems you are doing well in the alexa rankings. If you can please help me jump in the rankings as well by checking out my site at http://www.publicdomainpayday.com thank you so much for your time and I will check back on here when I get a chance!

  4. MchlBln says:

    Great post! I agree that this new package is a disappointment for all the reasons you list. Thanks for saying so.

  5. panama says:

    I usually don’t commonly post on many another Blogs, nevertheless I just has to say thank you… keep up the amazing work. Ok regrettably its time to get to school.

  6. Generally I do not make comments on blogs, but I have to mention that this post really forced me to do so. Really marvelous post

Leave a Reply

