12 Questions For… Dustin Foust!

This is our inaugural interview in a new post we’re calling “12 Questions For…” which will be highlighting local artists, designers and more. So enjoy the first installment and watch for more to come in the near future.

Dustin Foust 1

In our first installment of  “12 questions for…” we’ve spotlighted local artist and animator Dustin Foust. Dustin has created a great portfolio of work spanning from graphic illustration to animation to character design and much more. Dustin’s crisp graphic style and artistic use of light and shadow brings his characters to life in a flat 2-dimensional world.  Find out what Dustin had to tell us about himself and then follow the links below to check out more of his work from sketches, to illustrations and his animation reel.

12 Questions for…….Dustin Foust!

In 10 words or less…who is Dustin Foust?

Actually, I’m still trying to figure that out.

You definitely have a style all your own. Is it something that evolved as your talents progressed, or have you always had the same feel to your work?

My style has definitely evolved over the years. You have to evolve and grow as an artist or you become bored with your own work. I like to think my work has gotten better but I know I have along way to go.

How would you describe your style as if you were a good friend describing it?

Clean! My style is very clean. It drives me crazy sometimes. I look at the work of someone like Glen Keane (Disney Animator) and his stuff looks so loose and fun. I want that!

Your portfolio has some killer work in it. Will there ever be a Foust retrospective coffee table book someday?

I would love to put a book together. I’m not sure how many people would be interested though. Every year I say I’m going to do something like that for the Pittsburgh Comic Con. Maybe 2010 will be the year. Ha Ha

How would you like your work to impact the growing creative scene in PGH?

I just want people to notice the talent we have here. We have so much talent and so little work. Personally I would like to see some animation coming out of PGH! If my art can help in anyway, I’m all for it.

Do you remember when you first started drawing? What the earliest thing you remember doodling?

In kindergarten I was obsessed with Dinosaurs. I would staple index cards together and make little books about Dinosaurs. My family would always tell me how great they were. They really encourage me to draw.

Do you currently or plan to exhibit work, or are you strictly print/web exposure?

I would love to be a part of an exhibit or even have a show of my own someday. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do. It seems hard to find a place to exhibit my style of work.

What project has given you the most personal satisfaction?

About a year ago I did a COUGH COUGH Cleveland Browns piece for a charity event. The event was raising money for children with cancer. I didn’t get to attend the event personally but I did get a call from the events organizer telling me that the piece sold for $500 in an auction. That felt really good.

Who are your biggest influences past and present that most influence your work?

Disney movies played a big role in my development. As a child I would sit and watch Disney movies with my mother. Seeing the way she and others responded to those movies made me want to be an artist, specifically an animator.

The internet has made it so much easier to find inspirational work. I will sit for hours looking at artwork. Some of my favorite artists are Sean “Cheeks” Galloway, Ben Balistreri, Greg Baldwin, Adam Fenton and Florian Satzinger. Just to name a few.

If you could jump professions, what else would you see yourself doing?

I always wanted to do something with water, maybe a marine biologist. I think you have to be pretty smart though. Thankfully I can draw fairly well.

Do you have a personal mission statement as an artist?

Get in where you fit in.

What does the future hold for you, in 3 words?

Sun, Sand, Water

And the City Creative Final 5!!!!

1. Do you ever color outside the lines?

What lines?

2. Favorite PGH place to kill time?

Barnes and Noble in the Monroeville Mall

3. Best Primanti’s sandwich?

Cole Slaw on my sandwich? No thanks!

4. Being a (cough) Browns fan, what’s it like living in the City of Champions?

Depressing! It’s like having a good looking brother who works as a brain surgeon. You know you’ll never get any recognition.

5. Bigger fear.…..robot attack or zombie uprising?

Zombie! Did you know they can run now?

From Dustin: “Thanks to City Creative for getting the word out. Pittsburgh needed a good website for the local creative scene.”

And thanks to you Dustin for being a great first interviewee!!!

Be sure to check out more of Dustin’s stuff at his websites:

www.dustinfoust.com

www.dafoust.blogspot.com

Dustin Foust 2

-jp

This entry was posted in Art, Design, Interviews, Locals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.